Party Time

party planning ef5c72188c1b7ad2e64cef2c09147c99 79347f5db9fec775910e084bd1658fc2 25061e8030f3c912dc7083e28bebe558 26a02642907940f037bdc7d9aa9fb951 7bf23138ceacb028ac287e7787d44b86 dcfe221305f9b4fccf53d0eb038215f2e8c19e34ee3e63cfc4c9d91ba040dec0
(pics via)

I got a new side hustle ya’ll (whoop whoop)!! And by “side hustle” I mean I’m hustlin’ to find time to fit it in between my other hustles, and I don’t get paid for doing it (whomp whomp)…BUT, could possibly get paid for it… IF, I wasn’t so nice and always offered my side hustles for free…(thus why I’m not a millionaire yet, obviously).

Lately, I’ve been getting asked to plan parties. That’s right, I am now a party planner (along with real estate agent, writer, stylist, and blogger). Um yea, somethings gotta go… (p.s. it’s real estate).

I’m not sure how I came about this new role. Although I do like to throw a shindig every now and then for myself, planning a party for someone else is kinda nerve wrecking and stressful. I mean, it’s one thing to throw a bad party for yourself, but ruining someone else’s party, COME’ON, who can live that down!? Yet, there’s something about party planning that’s exciting and enjoyable, and keeps me saying “YES” to those who ask. Perhaps it’s the DIY’er in me. Thankfully, the ones I’ve thrown thus far have been a success! And I’m starting to figure out my party must-haves:

BIG BALLOONS : 12″ balloons are so typical. Bust out the big boys. I’m talkin’ 36″ latex. They make a big statement in such a chic way.

TASSEL GARLAND: The day I learned how to DIY tassel garland was the day I became a tissue paper hoarder. It’s so cheap &  simple to make (tissue paper, scissors, tape, & twine), yet can add so much interest to the room, and give the party a vintage/shabby chic vibe. Love it!

DESSERT TABLE: I used to be a fan of the candy bars, but now I’m finding a dessert bar/table is so much more classy looking and affordable! And NO, you don’t have to be a baker. Head over to Sam’s Club or Walmart and pick up some cheap pre-made desserts. #NomNom

THE UNEXPECTED: Let’s be honest, Pinterest is murdering originality. And that’s fine. Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, right? But, depsite how easy it is to recreate someone else’s creative idea, I always try to do something different and unexpected. I’m not saying you have to come up with a brand new idea, but just simply putting a twist on something you’ve already seen will make the party feel much more customized.

Wish me luck on this new “venture”!!

xo,

Key

Thanks for Reading

2 thoughts on “Party Time

Comments

